Remembering a Kindness

In my column today I reflect on one of the greatest kindnesses I’ve ever received, four years ago at the Canadian High Commission in Kenya.

It’s hard to believe it’s been four years since we brought our daughter home from Rwanda. We’ve had quite the adventure since then. If you’d like to read the full story of our adoption, you can find it in three parts here.

 

One response to “Remembering a Kindness

  1. Displays of generosity don’t seem to exist much around here like that. But I have a story of the kindness of a stranger.
    When I was 28 I was pregnant with our first child. I had some odd pain so I went to emerge, just to be sure, because i I didn’t even have an obstetrician at that point. My fiancé was working and we really didn’t think there was any reason to worry. I was a bit further along and we figured were in the clear.
    Test after test after ultrasound yielded the same result. I was losing the baby. The nice doctor let me see the tiny one on her portable ultrasound machine and let me have a few moments to process what was happening.
    As I walked back out into the piercing July sunshine, 4 days before my 29th birthday, I fell apart. I sat on the curb with my head in my hands bawling. A woman came out from between the vehicles and sat down beside me. She wrapped her arms around me and said a prayer. She sat and held me until my fiancé and parents arrived. Then she held both my hands while I tried to crack out a thank you and she smiled and went inside the building.
    Afterwards, I was totally floored at the kindness of this woman. Most everyone would walk past someone crying, absorbed in their own thoughts, and not give them a second glance. It still brings a tear to my eye to think of her sitting with me and not batting an eyelash at sharing a moment of true kindness with a complete stranger.

Leave a Reply

