Lost and Found

In this week’s column, I attempt to explain why so many household items go missing when kids are around — and, on a related note, why so many parents wander around looking slightly dazed.

Kids have a way of making us feel like we are losing our minds. They misplace things–theirs and ours. They distract us so that we misplace things and forget what we’re doing. It’s really all their fault. Or so I tell myself.

Have you seen this person? Three centimetres tall, answers to the name of Kai, goes missing regularly.

Have you seen this person? Three centimetres tall, answers to the name of Kai, goes missing regularly.

The flip side of this is I also end up finding and collecting many random objects. As I pick up after my kids, I wind up with a strange assortment of treasures at the end of the day.

I emptied my pockets before bed last night and came out with a marble, a clothespin, the lid from a peach-coloured marker, the blinking light from a busted toy wand, and a rubber snake.

Apparently we are not the only family whose kids get up to weird shenanigans with household objects. People who read my column today told me all kinds of stories: a pacifier hidden in a guitar, Play-Doh stuffed in Mom’s shoes, the TV remote under the fridge.

So, where’s the strangest place you ever found something your kids hid?

Leave a Reply

