Let Not Fear Be Your Guide

In the wake of a particularly scary local news cycle, this week I offer a reminder that, as parents, we can’t let fear be our driving force.

I’ve written lots about fear before. It’s such an easy thing to fall into as a parent. I think it’s one of the biggest battles we face, and I come back to this topic often because I think we need constant reminders in the face of all the things we read and hear in the news on a regular basis.

There’s a fine balance between instilling a healthy sense of caution in our kids, and letting our fears hold them back sometimes. And I think we’ve tipped the scale too far toward the latter. There’s no question we’re generally more reluctant to let kids do things like venture off into the woods by themselves.

What’s the answer? I don’t know. And I don’t always get it right. But I try to be aware of my own thoughts and emotions–rational or otherwise–and not let fear influence the way I raise my kids. Or live my life, for that matter.

One response to “Let Not Fear Be Your Guide

  1. Thank you, thank you, thank you for this article “Let not fear be your guide”. We need more perspective and thoughtfulness like this from voices in the media, to combat all the sensational stimuli that fan the flames of fear and hysteria. Keep up these clear-minded critiques!

Leave a Reply

