Making a Move

Column Day. Today I reveal some news: we’re moving soon. Not far, only about 10 minutes from where we are now. But moving always involves a huge amount of work–especially when you have six people in your family.

We have the added complication that our seven-year-old doesn’t want to move. When we first raised the subject he freaked out. Not that we were surprised; he has a hard time with change and he has strong opinions on everything, so we expected some resistance. So for this week’s column I called in some extra help: I spoke with Patrick McGrath, a child psychologist at the IWK.

We’re already doing many of the things Dr. McGrath suggested. We’re trying to involve the Mastermind so he has some ownership in the transition. And oddly enough, though he’s against moving he actually likes packing. All the organization and structure is right up his left-brained alley.

Our son’s biggest worry, I think, is about losing his new good friend from three doors down. The neighbour kid is the same age, he loves LEGO… and it helps that he’s a great kid. He tends to be a peacemaker–our boys fight less when he’s around. He also cracks me up. So of course we want to keep him!

We’re trying to convince our boy that he can still hang out with his friend. We’ll have to work a little harder to make it happen, but it can be done.

He seems to be coming around. There have been fewer adamant protests lately.  I’m not expecting it to be a smooth couple of weeks; I’m sure he’ll yo-yo between emotions a few more times. But in the end it’ll be worth it for all of us. (Or so we hope.)

One response to “Making a Move

  1. I love love love your column in the paper. They always uplift me, make me smile and put life into perspective. I wish there were more people like you in the world. I think you and your wife are doing a fantastic job, you are giving me great tips, I’m a parent of 2. Never stop writing!

Leave a Reply

