Party ‘Til You Drop

This week’s column: how to survive your kid’s birthday party.

We have a lot of birthdays this time of year. My son, my wife and my mother are all nine days apart, and then my brother is two weeks later. (Then it’s Mother’s Day.)

We also got invited to a big party for a boy in the Whirlwind’s preschool class this weekend, plus a “meet the baby” party for my two-month-old nephew. (Not a baby shower, you know, since those are usually for women and involve weird party games.)

So for two weekends straight we’ve gone from one gathering to another. Despite the abundance of food and excitement, which sometimes leads to kid catastrophes, we managed to escape relatively unscathed. The kids did pretty well–in fact, I might be the worst for the wear.

I was horsing around with the Mastermind on Plasma Cars on Sunday, and I took a turn too sharp and drove into the wall. With my knee.

So I’ve been limping for the last day and a half. When I told Shawna what happened, she said, “I don’t know if I should feel sorry for you.”

But my favourite birthday celebration was Saturday night–just Shawna and me, a nice walk by the waterfront (this was pre-Plasma Car injury), great Thai food at a quiet restaurant, and then we picked up chocolate and wine on the way home, where we watched episodes of Chuck on DVD. That’s more my style of party these days.

One response to “Party ‘Til You Drop

  1. Chad,
    I found your article, Birthdays: Simple Can Be fun too, over at Herald’s Art and Life, and it was hysterical! I’ve yet to read such a fun and frank post about your experience with your son’s birthday party and the practical tips you share to make it more manageable.

    I plan to share your post on my blog, The Birthday Wall, in connection with my e-book: The Birthday Wall: Create a Collage to Celebrate Your Child, which is a how-to for creating a colorful visual to help celebrate your child’s birthday, a family tradition I’ve kept for my daughters for the past 9 years.
    You’re welcome to check it out: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/140405.
    I post inspiring and practical birthday party tips and birthday stories for parents as they prepare for their child’s birthday.

    Thanks again for your hilarious take on birthday party planning. I love the idea of the parent having as much fun as the child. 🙂

    Be refreshed,
    Dawn Herring
    Author of The Birthday Wall: Create a Collage to Celebrate Your Child
    Host of #JournalChat Live and Links Edition on Twitter

Leave a Reply

