Adoption Part 2: The Miracle

As a follow-up to last week’s column on our quest to adopt our daughter from Rwanda, this week I wrote about our subsequent journey of moving from silence to sound… and all the other challenges that have come with it.

Read it here. And try not to be overwhelmed by my enormous head at the top of the article. Not sure why they decided they  needed to run my photo so large this week. It’s a little scary.

Here’s a much lovelier picture: our Miracle, two years after we brought her home and about a year after she’d been hearing.

An artist hard at work.

As I mention in the article, it’s been a very challenging journey with plenty of ups and downs and frustrations along the way. But we’ve also gained a much deeper appreciation for so many little things.

And I can honestly say I enjoy her more every day. Tonight as I was getting her ready for bed, as she sat on my lap and let me read her stories and imitated my ssh sound as she took off her shirt and her socks, I thought, “Wow, I can’t believe we’ve come this far. And I can’t wait to see where we go next.”

Leave a Reply

