The Journey of Adoption

Column Day. In honour of Adoption Awareness Month – yes, November belongs to more than just moustaches – I revisit the story of our journey to adopt our daughter. Read it here.

Or if you’d like the extended version, you can visit my blog archives and get the full tale in 3 1/2 parts. Adopting from Rwanda was quite the process, but so incredibly worth it.

Here’s a picture from the day I met her, on Father’s Day 2009. Next week I’ll give an update on just how far we’ve come in the past two years. Hard to believe now she was this little when I met her… and this docile. Now she hardly ever sits still.

2 responses to “The Journey of Adoption

  1. I think this is the first time I’ve ever commented on an article but your story hit really close to home. I too have a daughter who was born with severe to profound hearing loss. She is now five and doing very well with her bilateral cochear implants. She was the first in NS to receive simultaeous cochlear implants, in fact while she was on the waiting list for surgery she was only schedualed for one because that is all that the NS Health plan covered. Once I heard the announcement that NS would now cover both I cried and phoned Dr. Bance’s office immediately. He had never implanted simultaneously before but after some research he agreed! We were floored! During that time, I too gained a whole new appreciation for our health care system, NS only being the third province in the country to fund both gave me a whole new perspective of how lucky we really are to live in this province. Good luck to you and your family. I know it is not always easy, we had a really hard time during the first year with cochlear implants but with the amazing support of APSEA (also incredible that the services they continue to offer our family are all covered as well) we pushed through and the results have been stellar!

  2. Thanks for sharing, Lyndsay. It truly has been an amazing (and often difficult) journey. It sounds like your little girl is doing well — best of luck to all of you!

Leave a Reply

